The Best Order to Watch Star Wars

Which order to watch the Star Wars Movies for the first time

Whilst it is a fantastic time to be a Star Wars fan with new movies coming out every year, deciding which order to watch them in is always a difficult task. Especially when thinking about showing a first-time viewer. Currently there are three main contenders for the viewing order. Release order, canonical order and machete order. There are some benefits to each of these however the fourth order which I will call the “Act” order I feel is the best.


Release order.

Obvious but for the un-initiated this would mean A New Hope, Empire Strikes Back, Return of the Jedi, The Phantom Menace, Attack of the Clones, Revenge of the Sith, The Force Awakens and finally Rogue One. This does logical sense the order the movies where created in. But think about watching it as a first-time viewer. One of the biggest reveals in cinematic history in the second movie! How much more weight would the “No, I am your father” moment have if we had seen all the back story. Another pitfall of the release order is you miss out on the ever so perfect transition from Rouge One to A New Hope. The biggest argument for the release order is experiencing it the way every fan has. Although that argument falls down, if you want a first-time viewer to have that experience you should wait 3 years between watching 4, 5 & 6 then a fifteen year wait for 1.


Canonical Order

Canonical order is watching all 8 movies in story order which would mean TPM, AotC, RotS, R1, ANH, ESB, RotJ and TFA. Self-explanatory as to why this order works. However, the Vader reveal is still lost as the viewer would know Anakin’s story and who his off spring are by the end of Sith.

More on Page 2:

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest

Leave a Reply